[xwiki-users] Upgrade from 1.4 to 1.6.1 and need to resave all script pages???!??
Seems when you upgrade from 1.4.1 to 1.6.1 then you need to resave all pages that have "restricted" calls in them? For example, I use .search() in some of my pages, but after upgrading the xwiki they won't work until I resave the pages. On upgrading, I did not import the XWiki.Admin user (this caused problems the first time I upgraded so I avoid that now). I have about 200-250 pages in this state. Can this be done in one sweep, or can it be turned off? -- View this message in context: http://n2.nabble.com/Upgrade-from-1.4-to-1.6.1-and-need-to-resave-all-script... Sent from the XWiki- Users mailing list archive at Nabble.com.
Sorry being a pain.. Is there no way of avoiding this? It effectively stops me from upgrading past my current version of xwiki. underbad wrote:
Seems when you upgrade from 1.4.1 to 1.6.1 then you need to resave all pages that have "restricted" calls in them? For example, I use .search() in some of my pages, but after upgrading the xwiki they won't work until I resave the pages. On upgrading, I did not import the XWiki.Admin user (this caused problems the first time I upgraded so I avoid that now). I have about 200-250 pages in this state.
Can this be done in one sweep, or can it be turned off?
-- View this message in context: http://n2.nabble.com/Upgrade-from-1.4-to-1.6.1-and-need-to-resave-all-script... Sent from the XWiki- Users mailing list archive at Nabble.com.
underbad wrote:
Sorry being a pain.. Is there no way of avoiding this? It effectively stops me from upgrading past my current version of xwiki.
You shouldn't need this at all. Why are you saying it is not working? Programming rights are lost in three cases: 1. You save the affected document with a user without programming rights (in which case you are intentionally removing rights) 2. You delete the user who provided programming rights to the document (and you just need to re-create the user, not save all the documents) 3. You delete the rights from that user (and you just need to re-add those rights) Make sure it isn't only a cache problem, try restarting the wiki after you import the new data and set the proper rights.
underbad wrote:
Seems when you upgrade from 1.4.1 to 1.6.1 then you need to resave all pages that have "restricted" calls in them? For example, I use .search() in some of my pages, but after upgrading the xwiki they won't work until I resave the pages. On upgrading, I did not import the XWiki.Admin user (this caused problems the first time I upgraded so I avoid that now). I have about 200-250 pages in this state.
Can this be done in one sweep, or can it be turned off?
-- Sergiu Dumitriu http://purl.org/net/sergiu/
Thanks, In this case I use XWiki.Admin as the user for all developments. Other than importing the XAR (did not updating standard groups and users), only change is the new xwiki war to the newer version. On Fri, Dec 12, 2008 at 11:01 AM, Sergiu Dumitriu <sergiu@xwiki.com> wrote:
underbad wrote:
Sorry being a pain.. Is there no way of avoiding this? It effectively stops me from upgrading past my current version of xwiki.
You shouldn't need this at all. Why are you saying it is not working? Programming rights are lost in three cases:
1. You save the affected document with a user without programming rights (in which case you are intentionally removing rights) 2. You delete the user who provided programming rights to the document (and you just need to re-create the user, not save all the documents) 3. You delete the rights from that user (and you just need to re-add those rights)
Make sure it isn't only a cache problem, try restarting the wiki after you import the new data and set the proper rights.
underbad wrote:
Seems when you upgrade from 1.4.1 to 1.6.1 then you need to resave all pages that have "restricted" calls in them? For example, I use .search() in some of my pages, but after upgrading the xwiki they won't work until I resave the pages. On upgrading, I did not import the XWiki.Admin user (this caused problems the first time I upgraded so I avoid that now). I have about 200-250 pages in this state.
Can this be done in one sweep, or can it be turned off?
-- Sergiu Dumitriu http://purl.org/net/sergiu/ _______________________________________________ users mailing list users@xwiki.org http://lists.xwiki.org/mailman/listinfo/users
On Fri, Dec 12, 2008 at 12:01 PM, Sergiu Dumitriu <sergiu@xwiki.com> wrote:
underbad wrote:
Sorry being a pain.. Is there no way of avoiding this? It effectively stops me from upgrading past my current version of xwiki.
You shouldn't need this at all. Why are you saying it is not working? Programming rights are lost in three cases:
1. You save the affected document with a user without programming rights (in which case you are intentionally removing rights) 2. You delete the user who provided programming rights to the document (and you just need to re-create the user, not save all the documents) 3. You delete the rights from that user (and you just need to re-add those rights)
It reminds me a problem I had once. When the importer overwrite a page it first delete it, and when the XWiki.Admin user is deleted its XWiki.XWikiAdminGroup membership is deleted too. In this case, when you import the XWiki.Admin user by mistake you can have to put it in the XWiki.XWikiAdminGroup again. JV.
On Fri, Dec 12, 2008 at 1:22 PM, Jean-Vincent Drean <jean-vincent@drean.org> wrote:
On Fri, Dec 12, 2008 at 12:01 PM, Sergiu Dumitriu <sergiu@xwiki.com> wrote:
underbad wrote:
Sorry being a pain.. Is there no way of avoiding this? It effectively stops me from upgrading past my current version of xwiki.
You shouldn't need this at all. Why are you saying it is not working? Programming rights are lost in three cases:
1. You save the affected document with a user without programming rights (in which case you are intentionally removing rights) 2. You delete the user who provided programming rights to the document (and you just need to re-create the user, not save all the documents) 3. You delete the rights from that user (and you just need to re-add those rights)
It reminds me a problem I had once. When the importer overwrite a page it first delete it, and when the XWiki.Admin user is deleted its XWiki.XWikiAdminGroup membership is deleted too. In this case, when you import the XWiki.Admin user by mistake you can have to put it in the XWiki.XWikiAdminGroup again.
The importer does not sens delete notification anymore. See http://jira.xwiki.org/jira/browse/XWIKI-2365
JV. _______________________________________________ users mailing list users@xwiki.org http://lists.xwiki.org/mailman/listinfo/users
-- Thomas Mortagne
That's the thing.. I would have expected this to happen if I imported either the base groups or base users. Luckily I have been doing the upgrade tests on my own pc - so I've run through it a couple of times now. Any included (or otherwise parsed) pages with "protected" instructions, notably groovy scripts and .search() [obviously .searchDocuments() is fine] do not work. Even when I don't import the .XAR this happens with my current version (1.4.1). I don't have any other versions to test - so I'm not sure if the same happens with those. On Fri, Dec 12, 2008 at 1:22 PM, Thomas Mortagne <thomas.mortagne@xwiki.com>wrote:
On Fri, Dec 12, 2008 at 1:22 PM, Jean-Vincent Drean <jean-vincent@drean.org> wrote:
On Fri, Dec 12, 2008 at 12:01 PM, Sergiu Dumitriu <sergiu@xwiki.com> wrote:
underbad wrote:
Sorry being a pain.. Is there no way of avoiding this? It effectively stops me from upgrading past my current version of xwiki.
You shouldn't need this at all. Why are you saying it is not working? Programming rights are lost in three cases:
1. You save the affected document with a user without programming rights (in which case you are intentionally removing rights) 2. You delete the user who provided programming rights to the document (and you just need to re-create the user, not save all the documents) 3. You delete the rights from that user (and you just need to re-add those rights)
It reminds me a problem I had once. When the importer overwrite a page it first delete it, and when the XWiki.Admin user is deleted its XWiki.XWikiAdminGroup membership is deleted too. In this case, when you import the XWiki.Admin user by mistake you can have to put it in the XWiki.XWikiAdminGroup again.
The importer does not sens delete notification anymore. See http://jira.xwiki.org/jira/browse/XWIKI-2365
JV. _______________________________________________ users mailing list users@xwiki.org http://lists.xwiki.org/mailman/listinfo/users
-- Thomas Mortagne _______________________________________________ users mailing list users@xwiki.org http://lists.xwiki.org/mailman/listinfo/users
participants (5)
-
Jean-Vincent Drean -
Joe -
Sergiu Dumitriu -
Thomas Mortagne -
underbad