Hi Clemens, First of all, thanks for your feedback. It helps a lot. On Mon, Sep 9, 2013 at 2:30 PM, Clemens Klein-Robbenhaar <c.robbenhaar@espresto.com> wrote:
Hi devs,
as I recently played around with the DW on a fresh install instead of a migration, I figured out the "Cancel" button does not what I guess most users expect it to do.
There has been some debate about the Cancel and Skip buttons and you're not the only one considering them misleading. I also agree, but I haven't seen seen / heard alternatives that are much better.
With a fresh install when there are no pages in the wiki, choosing "cancel" leaves one with a completely empty wiki where one cannot do anything, especially not login to import ones custom set of pages. If one really has a custom set of pages, probably one is experienced enough to know about the "superadmin" account.
(Even then one might expect from earlier version that it is possible to upload an initial XAR without having to log in, and be confused when it is not there.)
It was documented in the release notes as this is an important change in XWiki 5.1. See http://www.xwiki.org/xwiki/bin/view/ReleaseNotes/ReleaseNotesXWiki50#HPublic... .
Unfortunately unexperienced users, who might just know the "standalone" HSQL/Jetty distro with their pre-installed pages, might be confused when they set up XWiki "the right way". The typical reaction when being confused is to press the "Cancel" button, which normally is the "get me out of here" way to fix things if some unexpected dialog pops up.
I guess I'm the only one naive enough to think user read the messages displayed on dialogs. I added the "If you want to perform the install manually then ..." message hoping it will reduce the confusion.
However in the installation process this is exactly what an unexperienced user should *not* do. At most "skip" is the right option, if the user really wants to see how the wiki looks without UI.
I wonder if instead of "Cancel" a stronger word like "Abort" should be used. Or maybe if pressing "Cancel" at install time one should get a javascript alert saying "If you choose this option you will have to activate the "superadmin" user in the config file, as no default admin user will be installed, and the wiki will be nearly useless without." (message should appear only in case of a fresh install, i.e. if there are no pages in the DB, of course).
This is a good idea.
Additionally maybe it is helpful to color the button red instead of blue. (Well, maybe this is even all that needs to change to keep newbies from pressing that button).
Are you sure it's blue? http://platform.xwiki.org/xwiki/bin/view/Features/DistributionWizard#HDWonaC... it's a secondary button so it's definitely not blue. I think red is too much. Thanks again, Marius
Cheers, Clemens _______________________________________________ devs mailing list devs@xwiki.org http://lists.xwiki.org/mailman/listinfo/devs